Home
evt.unileoben.ac.at/en/
Lehrstuhl für Energieverbundtechnik // Montanuniversitaet Leoben
Navigation

Energy Model Region „Green Tech Valley 2022“

The aim of this exploratory project is to develop an overall concept for covering 100% of the Styrian energy consumption with renewable energy sources. It is planned to generate an Energy Model Region, based on the technological, economic and social strengths of the hotspot, internationally known as Green Tech Valley.

Members of the strong consortium include ten global technology leaders located in Austria, four innovative energy service providers, six specialized research facilities, further project partners and political departments.

Taking into account the technological strengths of the companies, the economical relevance and the benefits for the whole energy system, the focus is set on the following issues:

  • Flexible production and storage of electricity and heating/cooling
  • Intelligent and energy-efficient networking of consumer and production
  • Connection of heat, electricity and mobility through integrated hybrid networks

Connections to the model region are, inter alia, solar district heating and storage at worldwide unprecedented scales, supply of balancing energy through hydraulic power stations, large-scale use of photovoltaic (Grätzel cells), as well as new defined interfaces concerning mobility.

Within this exploratory project a vision, an overall concept and the project cluster are planned prior to the implementation phase in 2022. The goal is to generate an international path-breaking flagship project demonstrating new interactions between heating/cooling, power and mobility.

Fenster schließen
Energy Model Region „Green Tech Valley 2022“

Home
evt.unileoben.ac.at
Lehrstuhl für Energieverbundtechnik // Montanuniversität Leoben
Navigation

Vorzeigeregion „Green Tech Valley 2022“

Ziel des Sondierungsprojektes, ist ein Gesamtkonzept zur 100%igen Versorgung der Steiermark durch erneuerbare Energieträger. Auf Basis der technologischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Stärken des Hotspots, der international als Green Tech Valley bekannt ist, wird eine überregionale Vorzeigeregion entwickelt.

Zehn globale Technologieführer aus Österreich, vier Energiedienstleister mit großer Innovations- und Investitionsbereitschaft, sechs spezialisierte Forschungseinrichtungen, weitere Partner des Clusters und alle betroffenen Politik-Ressorts engagieren sich hier in einem starken Konsortium.

Aus den Technologiestärken der Unternehmen, der wirtschaftlichen Relevanz und dem Nutzen für das Energiesystem sind vor allem folgende Fokuspunkte hervorzuheben:

  • Flexible Erzeugung und Speicherung von Strom und Wärme/Kälte
  • Intelligente und energieeffiziente Vernetzung von KonsumentInnen und Produktion
  • Verschränkung von Wärme, Strom und Mobilität durch gesamtheitliche Hybridnetze

Verbindungen zur Vorzeigeregion sind u. a. die solare Fernwärme und Speicher in weltweit bisher unerreichten Größenordnungen, die Regelenergiebereitstellung über innovative Laufkraftwerke, der großflächige Einsatz organischer Photovoltaik (Grätzelzelle), sowie neu definierte Nahtstellen zur Mobilität.

Im Zuge des Projektes werden sowohl Vision, wie auch Gesamtkonzept und der Projektcluster als Plan für die Umsetzungsphase bis 2022 entwickelt. Ziel ist ein international wegweisender Leuchtturm, welche ein neues Zusammenspiel von Wärme/Kälte, Strom und Mobilität demonstriert.

Fenster schließen
Vorzeigeregion „Green Tech Valley 2022“